#AE17: Who are our new MLAs?

On Friday 3rd of March 90 MLAs were elected to the Northern Ireland Assembly, a reduction of 18 from the 108 returned at #AE16. 

The final count for each party was:
DUP: 28
Sinn Fein: 27
SDLP: 12
UUP: 10
Alliance: 8 
Green: 2
TUV: 1
Ind: 1

Turnout significantly increased from the 2016 elections, up to 64.8%. 

There are now 27 female MLA's, 30% of the Assembly. 

Links are to each MLAs page on the NI Assembly website which will be updated with contact details in due course.

Belfast East

In East Belfast each of the MLA's returned in the 2016 Assembly Election were again returned to Stormont:

Naomi Long (Alliance Party)
Chris Lyttle (Alliance Party)
Joanne Bunting (DUP)
Andy Allen (UUP)
Robin Newton (DUP)

Belfast North

In North Belfast the DUP lost one seat as a result of the reduction to five per constituency at this election:

Paula Bradley (DUP)
William Humphrey (DUP)
Nicola Mallon (SDLP)
Gerry Kelly (SF)
Carál Ní Chuilín (SF)

Belfast South 

South Belfast was the last count to declare it's final results:

Máirtín Ó Muilleoir (SF)
Claire Hanna (SDLP)
Paula Bradshaw (Alliance Party)
Christopher Stalford (DUP)
Clare Bailey (Green Party)

Belfast West

In West Belfast it was the SDLP who lost a sitting MLA, with the constituency returning:

Órlaithí Flynn (SF)
Gerry Carroll (PBPA)
Alex Maskey (SF)
Fra McCann (SF)
Pat Sheehan (SF)

East Antrim 

East Antrim saw the UUP pick up a seat, returning:

David Hilditch (DUP)
Stewart Dickson (Alliance Party)
Roy Beggs (UUP)
Gordon Lyons (DUP)
John Stewart (UUP)

East Londonderry

East Londonderry saw the return of John Dallat to the Assembly, having previously stood down in 2016:

Claire Sugden (Ind)
Maurice Bradley (DUP)
George Robinson (DUP)
Caoimhe Archibald (SF)
John Dallat (SDLP)

Fermanagh South Tyrone

In FST the DUP lost an MLA due to the reduction in seats:

Arlene Foster (DUP)
Michelle Gildernew (SF)
Jemma Dolan (SF)
Rosemary Barton (UUP)
Sean Lynch (SF)


In Foyle it was PBPA who lost the seat they had gained in 2016:

Elisha McCallion (SF)
Raymond McCartney (SF)
Colum Eastwood (SDLP)
Mark H Durkan (SDLP)
Gary Middleton (DUP)

Lagan Valley

In Lagan Valley two sitting MLA's lost their seats, with the SDLP picking up a seat:

Paul Givan (DUP)
Robbie Butler (UUP)
Trevor Lunn (Alliance Party)
Edwin Poots (DUP)
Pat Catney (SDLP)

Mid Ulster

In Mid Ulster it was the UUP who lost out on a seat due to the reduction in numbers:

Michelle O'Neill (SF)
Keith Buchanan (DUP)
Linda Dillon (SF)
Ian Milne (SF)
Patsy McGlone (SDLP)

Newry and Armagh

In Newry and Armagh it was the UUP who lost out due to the reduction in the number of seats:

William Irwin (DUP)
Cathal Boylan (SF)
Justin McNulty (SDLP)
Megan Fearon (SF)
Conor Murphy (SF)

North Antrim 

The DUP lost one of three seats they previously held in the constituency:

Philip McGuigan (SF)
Robin Swann (UUP)
Jim Allister (TUV)
Paul Frew (DUP)
Mervyn Storey (DUP)

North Down

North Down saw each of it's sitting MLAs who sought reelection in the constituency returned to Stormont:

Alex Easton (DUP)
Alan Chambers (UUP)
Stephen Farry (Alliance Party)
Gordon Dunne (DUP)
Steven Agnew (Green Party)

South Antrim 

In South Antrim, the DUP lost one of the three seats they held prior to the election:

Declan Kearney (SF)
Steve Aiken (UUP)
David Ford (Alliance Party)
Paul Girvan (DUP)
Pam Cameron (DUP)

South Down 

South Down saw the UUP lose the seat they had taken in the 2016 election, returning:

Sinead Ennis (SF)
Chris Hazzard (SF)
Sinead Bradley (SDLP)
Jim Wells (DUP)
Colin McGrath (DUP)


In Strangford the DUP retained their three seats from 2016, although with different MLAs. Overall the constituency returned:

Kellie Armstrong (Alliance Party)
Simon Hamilton (DUP)
Michelle McIlveen (DUP)
Mike Nesbitt (UUP)
Peter Weir (DUP)

Upper Bann 

In Upper Bann the SDLP regained the seat they lost at the 2016 election. 

Carla Lockhart (DUP)
Jonathan Buckley (DUP)
Doug Beattie (UUP)
John O'Dowd (SF)
Dolores Kelly (SDLP)

West Tyrone

In West Tyrone it was the UUP who lost out due to the reduction in seats, the constituency returned:

Thomas Buchanan (DUP)
Michaela Boyle (SF)
Barry McElduff (SF)
Declan McAleer (SF)
Daniel McCrossan (SDLP)

Share your COVID-19 support service

Organisations providing support to people and communities during the COVID-19 emergency can share their service information here

> Share your support

Not a NICVA member yet?

Save time, money and energy. Join NICVA and you’ll be connecting in to a strong network of local organisations focused on voluntary and community activity.

Join Us

NICVA now welcomes all small groups for free.

Read more on...