Who is the new Chair of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee?

Simon Hoare MP, new Chair of the NI Affairs Committee

Simon Hoare MP has been confirmed as the new chair of the Northern Ireland Affairs Select Committee.

Mr Hoare was this week elected to the position following a secret ballot of MPs. He replaces Andrew Murrison MP, who was recently appointed as a Minister of State at the Foreign Office.

Mr Hoare was elected as a Conservative Party Member of Parliament for North Dorset at the 2015 General Election. Before entering Parliament, Mr Hoare worked as a public relations and lobbying consultant.

His past positions in the House of Commons has included being a member of the Regulatory Reform Committee, and most notably the Parliamentary Private Secretary to Home Secretary Sajid Javid, a position he has resigned from to take up office at the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee.

Mr Hoare endorsed a Remain vote prior to the 2016 EU membership referendum.

The current work of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee includes inquiries into welfare policy in NI, tourism in NI and implications of the EU Withdrawal Agreement and the Backstop to NI. To find out more about the role, functions and membership of the Committee, click here.

Share your COVID-19 support service

Organisations providing support to people and communities during the COVID-19 emergency can share their service information here

> Share your support

Not a NICVA member yet?

Save time, money and energy. Join NICVA and you’ll be connecting in to a strong network of local organisations focused on voluntary and community activity.

Join Us

NICVA now welcomes all small groups for free.

Read more on...