Who are NI's new ministers?

5 Feb 2024 Shauna O'Neill    Last updated: 9 Feb 2024


Two years to the day since the collapse of devolved government in Northern Ireland, the Executive has been restored and new Ministers announced.

Following three hours of an Assembly recall on Saturday, Northern Ireland now has its new Executive ministers.

Here’s a list of the all the new appointments from this week:

Executive Ministers

  • First Minister:  Michelle O’Neill, Sinn Fein
  • Deputy First Minister: Emma Little-Pengelly, DUP
  • Junior Ministers: Aisling Reilly, Sinn Fein and Pam Cameron, DUP
  • Justice Minister: Naomi Long MLA, Alliance
  • Economy Minister: Conor Murphy MLA, Sinn Féin
  • Education Minister: Paul Givan MLA, DUP
  • Communities Minister: Gordon Lyons MLA, DUP
  • Health Minister: Robin Swann, UUP
  • Infrastructure Minister: John O'Dowd MLA, Sinn Féin
  • Finance Minister: Caoimhe Archibald MLA, Sinn Féin
  • Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs Minister: Andrew Muir MLA, Alliance

Other key appointments

  • Speaker of the house: Edwin Poots MLA, DUP
  • Deputy Speakers: John Blair MLA, Alliance; Steve Aiken MLA UUP; and Carál Ní Chuilín MLA, Sinn Féin
  • Leader of the Opposition: Matthew O’Toole MLA, SDLP

Committee chairs / Vice-chairs


Chair: Philip Brett (DUP)
Vice-chair: Gary Middleton (DUP)


Chair: Matthew O'Toole (SDLP)
Vice-chair: Diane Forsythe (DUP)


Chair: Nick Mathison (Alliance)
Vice-chair: Pat Sheehan (Sinn Féin)


Chair: Liz Kimmins (Sinn Féin)
Vice-chair: Nuala McAllister (Alliance)


Chair: Colm Gildernew (Sinn Féin)
Vice-chair: Ciara Ferguson (Sinn Féin)


Chair: Deborah Erskine (DUP)
Vice-chair: John Stewart (UUP)


Chair: Tom Elliott (UUP)
Vice-chair: Declan McAleer (Sinn Féin)

Executive Office

Chair: Paula Bradshaw (Alliance)
Vice-chair: Connie Egan (Alliance)


Chair: Joanne Bunting (DUP)
Vice-chair: Deirdre Hargey (Sinn Féin)

Windsor Framework Democratic Scrutiny

Chair: Declan Kearney (Sinn Féin)
Vice-chair: David Brooks (DUP)

Public Accounts

Chair: Daniel McCrossan (SDLP)
Vice-chair: Cheryl Brownlee (DUP)

Standards and Privileges

Chair: Philip McGuigan (Sinn Féin)
Vice-chair: Danny Donnelly (Alliance)

shauna.oneill@nicva.org's picture
by Shauna O'Neill

Communications Officer

[email protected]

Share your COVID-19 support service

Organisations providing support to people and communities can share their service information here

> Share your support

Not a NICVA member yet?

Save time, money and energy. Join NICVA and you’ll be connecting in to a strong network of local organisations focused on voluntary and community activity.

Join Us

NICVA now welcomes all small groups for free.

Read more on...